Jaime Boddorff

a
VNDL:  Describe your work/process
JB:  It’s usually very instinctual. I don’t try to force anything to happen, which can be good and bad. For example, if I come up with a project idea and for whatever reason it’s just not working out, I have to find another way to go about it or else I put it on the backburner until I come up with a solution. I do push and challenge myself though – there’s a difference.
Otherwise I use a lot of miscellaneious materials or recycled/found materials. Sometimes I’ll make a painting on a canvas, sometimes it’s a piece of wood I found, and sometimes it’s cardboard from a cereal box.

b

What have you been up to recently? (trips, projects, work?)
I recently moved to Brooklyn, so I’m adjusting right now. I don’t have a lot of space so I’m getting back into illustration and bookbinding.  Before that I was printing in a screen printing studio I built in Maryland and making lampshades out of underwear. There’s a range of projects going on right now.
I also travel to San Francisco a lot – it has such a vibrant and welcoming art scene, insane food (so does NY though), and amazing weather. I’m going pretty soon and I love to photograph the surfers and kite-boarders. One day I’ll be a beach bum too! c
Favorite Quote
“As long as I can remember, I have been limited to the things I can think of. It has taken on the aspect of fundamental truth. I cannot think what you or anybody else is thinking unless you tell me what it is and then I’m thinking it. I am sure there is an escape from this, I was sure, I wish there was an escape, I want to go somewhere where…”
Frederick Barthelme d

Advice to other creative’s/aspiring artists
Don’t try too hard to make the art you think you should make. Do what feels comfortable and honest.

e
What are you currently listening to/reading/ watching?
-Whatever fun sampled/remixes I can find… I’m in a good-mood music phase: L’orange, Wax Tailor, Baauer, Dr. Quandary, Blu & Exile
-Fierce Invalids Home From Hot Climates – Tom Robbins
-Sherlock f

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
Traveling!

Who is or where does your inspiration come from? Any emerging artists to watch out for?
I don’t think it’s so much inspiration as it is motivation.
Walker Babington is a good friend of mine and I think his art is awesome. He’s a “pyrographer” and he’s always got some crazy project going on somewhere in the world. He’s also a stuntman, so look out for him in the movie Lincoln.
He doesn’t really have a website because he’s way too cool, but you can see his stuff on Facebook.

Jaime Boddorff is a Photographer and Artist from Brooklyn NY

Website

  TUMBLR

Facebook

Leave a comment